must …. feel …. better

I have felt pretty bad for weeks now.  It was so bad I went to the doctor and he gave me antibiotics and said I had an upper respiratory infection.  They didn’t work and I still feel terrible.  Then it hit me.  I quit smoking!  I also forgot to mention that to the doctor.  I guess I didn’t think it was related.

After reading a few sites on the net it appears to be a very common occurrence.   I am actually going through withdraws from nicotine and ridding all the toxins.  There are thousands of posts on the very symptoms I have, as well as a physicians note:

When we smoke and for all the years that we smoked each and every puff on a cigarette destroyed the cilia, or tiny little hair-like projections lining our respiratory tract. These cilia are responsible for filtering out all the impurities we breathe on a daily basis. They line our nose and reach all the way down into our lungs. When we quit smoking, the first thing, essentially to start repairing itself, is the respiratory tract……and as soon as we take the last puff, the cilia start to regenerate themselves. In some people these cilia grow back faster than others.

Coughing is a natural byproduct of the reemerging cilia. It makes no difference how long or how much you smoked, the rate of regrowth can and is different in most of us. The faster the cilia grow, the more likely we are to cough lots in the first weeks of a quit. Our bodies are healing and our lungs are clearing themselves of all the toxins and impurities.

One person recommended eating several bananas a day, apples, loads of water and drinking a detox tea that has ginger.  I am relieved to know what is going on now because it was really worrying me.  OK.  Off to get the tea.

This entry was posted in Health. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to must …. feel …. better

  1. Linda says:

    That is really good to know! I sure hope that is what is going on with you. Got to be in tip-top condition in March!!
    Love to you both,
    Mom

  2. Agree! I was really getting down trying to figure out what was wrong with me and then researched it and sure enough all my systems coincide with someone who quit smoking. So crazy but I am going to do everything in my power to feel better! Rob is going to take me to the health store in just a minute to get the tea that is recommended.

  3. jonna says:

    I guess I should have told you that, haha. I coughed for what seemed to be months, still catch myself coughing when I wake up, and, believe it or not, I still hack shit out.
    It will be 7 years in August, crazy.

    I’m just glad to know it’s nothing serious. Gotta be all healthy for that little bambino, hehe.

Leave a Reply

