The pelvic bone is connected to the …..

Did you know that your pelvic bone moves 2 – 5mm when you are pregnant to help the baby pass through the birth canal? Me either!! Sometimes they move a bit too much.  When that happens it feels like a knife is stabbing you in the you know where!  Ahemm .. yeah.  mine did this.  It hurts and walking hurts and turning over in bed, getting out of bed, getting out of the car, hurts.  Its called PGP (Pelvic Girdle Pain) or SPD (Symphysis Pubis Dysfunction).   It occurs 1-in-35 pregnancies.

I start physical therapy tomorrow which will include some simple exercises and the distribution of a pelvic belt that I have to wear to keep King from pressing on my cervix.

Speaking of King.  This child never stops moving, kicking, jumping and doing somersaults!  Its pretty amazing!  Rob has felt some pretty strong ones too.  Seeing this was music to the doctors ears.  Although its early for all this movement, it means he is a healthy baby.  I am also feeling contractions now but that’s normal for this time.

So there you have it.  The PG gods are testing my will once again but it will only make me stronger!  Bring it!

We move in 12 days.  I have barely packed a thing.  We are also having a garage sale and selling a lot of stuff.  We are pretty overwhelmed with everything but as I always say .. everything always works out.

This entry was posted in Preggers. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The pelvic bone is connected to the …..

  1. Adrienne B says:

    M, I am having the same problem! It has been happening for about a week and is getting worse and worse. I have been wearing a support thingy, but I am not sure it is helping. How did you find your PT person? Do they specialize in pregnancy related PT? I hope yours does not get too bad. I am so glad to hear that King is doing so well!

    • Hi Adrienne! Yeah it sucks so bad. I am really sorry to hear you are experiencing this too. I did get a maternity support belt and was told to wear it really low, below the hip bone, but I don’t think its helping either. Also, King HATES when anything is pressing against my lower abdomen. My OB referred me to the PT and yes, she specializes in OB PT. She is a physiotherapist. She also is requesting I purchase a BabyHugger. They are fugly but she says its the best support of SPD. You can find them on ebay too.

      How are you doing? How far long are you now Adrienne? Same as me? 26 weeks?

Leave a Reply

